The Ghosts of Christmas Past, Present & Future? Mass Anxiety & Democracy

--

2020 is nearing to an end, and anxieties are at an all time high. What does this mean for democracy? Using Charles Dickens’ famous Christmas story, I attempt to explore the question. This article is the first episode of a series called “If the Universe is Expanding, Then So Should Democracy”, which aims to explain the inspiration behind Accidental European.

“‘I wear the chain I forged in life,’ replied the Ghost. ‘I made it link by link, and yard by yard; I girded it on of my own free will, and of my own free will I wore it. Is its pattern strange to you?’”

Read more at : https://accidentaleuropean.com/mass-anxiety-could-kill-democracy-just-in-time-for-christmas/

--

--

Accidental European

Accidental European is a digital media platform dedicated to making EU policy inclusive, human, fun and interactive.